Fanny Goldstein Merit Award

Find us on: Bookmark and Share


The 2015 AJL annual conference will be held in Silver Spring, Maryland, June 21-24.

Proceedings and podcasts of the 2014 conference will be online shortly.


With the advice of the AJL Board and Council, the Life Membership and Fanny Goldstein Award Committee selects AJL members to be honored at the national convention. Contact: Fred Isaac.

The Fanny Goldstein Merit Award, named for the librarian, social activist and founder of National Jewish Book Month, is bestowed in recognition of loyal and ongoing contributions to the Association and to the profession of Jewish librarianship.

Born on May 15, 1895 [some sources say 1888], Fanny Goldstein devoted her life to books and community. She was the first female Judaica librarian and the first woman to direct a branch library in Massachusetts, where she was head of Boston's West End Branch for many years. A prominent figure in the Boston Jewish community, she is best known as the founder of Jewish Book Week, which began when Goldstein organized a display of Jewish books at the Boston Public Library in 1925.


Award Winners

YearSorted By Year In Descending OrderName
2013Amalia Warshenbrot
2012Sylvia Firschein
2011Etta D. Gold
2010Ronda Rose
2009No award given
2008Fred Isaac
2007Ellen G. Cole
2006No award given
2005Libby K. White
2004Linda R. Silver
2003Cheryl Banks, Nancy Sack
2002Joseph Galron
2001Susan Dubin
2000Frances Wolf
1995Sylvia Avner (deceased), Lillian Schwartz
1994Adaire J. Klein
1993Edith Lubetski
1992Bella Hass Weinberg, Marcia Posner, Irene Levin-Wixman (deceased), Hazel Karp, Barbara Y. Leff