RAS Division

Find us on: Bookmark and Share


The 2015 AJL annual conference will be held in Silver Spring, Maryland, June 21-24.

Proceedings and podcasts of the 2014 conference will be online shortly.

AJL's Research Libraries, Archives, and Special Collections Division has a membership of more than three hundred Judaica academic librarians worldwide. We are working together to further the interests of our profession in a time of tremendous technological change. Through the following activities we have been serving our members’ interests, all of which are carried out by volunteers:

AJL's publications, including the AJL News and AJL Reviews and Judaica Librarianship, the only English language scholarly journal in its field.

AJL's annual conventions, at which programming oriented to research and special libraries is amply represented. The 2011 convention will take place in Montreal, Quebec.

The RAS Cataloging Committee, an influential body dealing with issues affecting Hebraica and Judaica cataloging policies. Committee members often consult with the Library of congress and other national bodies to help create new cataloging policies. (Heidi Lerner of Stanford University is currently chair of the Cataloging Committee.)

The RAS Reference and Bibliography awards. Award winners are announced at the annual AJL convention. These awards represent the best in the fields of Judaica reference and bibliography. (Sharon Benamou, RAS Vice President, is currently the chair of the awards committee).

Hasafran, our electronic newsletter, moderated by Yossi Galron of Ohio State University. Send to listserver@lists.acs.ohio-state.edu the following message to subscribe: "suscribe hasafran [your first and last name]". If you encounter a problem, you can write to Yossi directly.

Consider becoming active in your local AJL chapter, should there be one in your area or volunteer to serve on one of our ad hoc or standing committees. Don’t hesitate to express your ideas or suggestions in either Hasafran or by writing directly to the president of the division, Daniel Scheide.